ACTION ALERT | Take action to protect in person visitation at Texas County Jails!

Several weeks ago we asked you to communicate to members of the House County Affairs Committee your support for HB 549, a bill that protects the face-to-face visitation rights of people incarcerated at Texas county jails from being replaced with expensive, poor quality video chats.  (see more background here)

You called, wrote, and showed up to testify before the members of that committee and guess what?  It worked!  HB 549 passed out of committee and now has a chance to be heard on the floor of the House.  To get there, we need you to call and email the members of the Calendars Committee and  urge them to “Please schedule HB 549 to be heard on the House floor!”   

  • (Chair) Rep. Todd Hunter              todd.hunter@house.state.tx.us          (512) 463-0672
  • (Vice Chair) Rep. Eddie Lucio III     eddie.lucio_iii@house.state.tx.us       (512) 463-0606
  • Rep. Robert. R. Alonzo                  roberto.alonzo@house.state.tx.us     (512) 463-0408
  • Rep. Byron Cook                           byron.cook@house.state.tx.us           (512) 463-0730
  • Rep. Sarah Davis                           sarah.davis@house.state.tx.us           (512) 463-0389
  • Rep. Charlie Geren                        charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us        (512) 463-0610
  • Rep. Helen Giddings                     helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us      (512) 463-0953
  • Rep. Patricia Harless                     patricia.harless@house.state.tx.us      (512) 463-0496  
  • Rep. Dan Huberty                         dan.huberty@house.state.tx.us           (512) 463-0520
  • Rep. Eric Johnson                         eric.johnson@house.state.tx.us           (512) 463-0586
  • Rep. Ken King                              ken.king@house.state.tx.us                 (512) 463-0736
  • Rep. Lyle Larson                          lyle.larson@house.state.tx.us               (512) 463-0646
  • Rep. Four Price                            four.price@house.state.tx.us                (512) 463-0470
  • Rep. Debbie Riddle                      debbie.riddle@house.state.tx.us           (512) 463-0572
  • Rep. Eddie Rodriguez                   eddie.rodriguez@house.state.tx.us      (512) 463-0674

The debate about video visitation in Texas is national news and our state would be setting an important precedent. Passing HB 549 would impede the expansion of a prison technology industry that preys on incarceration for profit.  The latest media feature on this issue was published this morning and highlights the work of our coalition partners in Texas and beyond.  

"To visit her son in jail in the suburbs of Austin, Texas, Barbara Brutschy would get on a plane and fly 1,700 miles from her home in Oregon. She would arrive at the jail, go through security checks, including metal detectors, all airport-style. An hour later, she would sit down in a booth, wait, and after a couple of minutes her son, Richard Fisk, would appear—on a video screen." Read more...