ACTION ALERT May 19, 2015 | We need you ASAP to protect jail visitation for Texas families!

May 19, 2015
 
The legislative process is long and layered and takes several rounds of engagement before a bill passes.  With your help we have gotten HB 549, a bill that protects the face-to-face visitation rights of people incarcerated at Texas county jails from being replaced with expensive, poor quality video chats, all the way to the Senate Criminal Justice Committee.  In order for it to have a chance of passing, the Senate Criminal Justice Committee needs to hear from you TODAY.  (see more background here)
 
Please call and write the members of the Senate Criminal Justice Committee ASAP and let them know you support protecting face-to-face visits at County Jails.  Consider reminding them that the Texas debate on the issue has gained national attention, and we have a perfect opportunity to set an important precedent for the rights of incarcerated people and their loved ones.  Below is a brief list of notable state and national media about visitation, video technology and county jails in Texas.  

Chair: Senator John Whitmire 512-463-0115 john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us 
*Please also thank Sen. Whitmire for taking up this issue and adding it to the Committee's agenda
 
Vice-Chair: Senator Joan Huffman 512-463-0117 joan.huffman@sentate.state.tx.us 
 
MEMBERS:
Konni Burton                512-463-0110  konni.burton@senate.state.tx.us
Brandon Creighton       512-463-0104 brandon.creighton@senate.state.tx.us
Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa   512-463-0120 juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us
Jose Menendez             512-463-0126 jose.menendez@senate.state.tx.us
Charles Perry                512-463-0128 charles.perry@senate.state.tx.us
 
 
Screening Visitors - The Economist | January 24, 2015